My life - in 1000 words or less

So, my husband didn’t want me to share quite so much about me and my life. He feels I’m over-sharing. Maybe it’s just because he’s a very private person. I’ve got nothing to hide (not that he has - neither of us is really that interesting). But I am more of a “what you see, is what you get” kind of person. And I think it’s important to share your story, for other people to see that we’re really not all that different to each other when it comes to it.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

So, here goes…. When I was young, I wanted to be a hairdresser. For years, I was sure I was going to be a hairdresser. I loved drawing and writing, too, and was good in school, so my parents felt my “talent” would be wasted on becoming a hairdresser (why?!!). I really wanted to do something creative though, so I decided I wanted to be a graphic designer, because that was at least something “on computers” that you studied for, but alas no. University was the future for me, not really creative, but hey, at least you get to do lots of writing at university, right?

So, I studied modern languages (English being one of them) and marketing/PR/communications. Lots and lots of writing! The creative side of things, I discovered, was in the marketing. I did my master’s thesis on branding and suddenly I knew what I wanted to do. However, that’s not always how the world works!

Moving to London for love

I met my now husband, who’s British, when I was taking a term at an Australian university. He was in Australia watching cricket and travelling. I ended my term there with a trip up the east coast, and on a desert island, our paths crossed (oh so romantic, I know, right?).

I moved to London to live with him a year later, and once I’d finished my degree, I started working in PR. Not my ideal job, as it turned out. I’m not extrovert enough to be on the phone all day to strangers, and my English wasn’t good enough to write the catchy press releases, so I was on the cuttings and research side of things. Luckily, I got headhunted by a Scandinavian media company who needed a Danish press officer, and I held this job until we moved to Denmark in 2007.


In Denmark, I started working for one of the country’s biggest retail chains. They wanted to break into the UK market, and I helped getting all the marketing content ready.

I then got pregnant, and on maternity leave with my first daughter, I got pregnant with my second daughter (ahem!), and decided on a career change. I actually wanted to train to be a hairdresser, but in reality, I couldn’t put in the hours of training and work it required (in Denmark you train for 4 years).

Instead, I started working for the regional mental health hospital, and after six months of that, they gave me the opportunity to train as a medical secretary, which I did, and really enjoyed. It taught me a lot about working with “real” people and my typing skills were second to none (a lot of not very creative writing, though). In 2014, we moved our family to the UK, where the work/life balance isn’t as good as it is in Denmark, so we decided, I would stay at home with the girls. Now, with my children no longer needing me 24/7, I am starting on my own, going back to what I know and love, working with branding and now it’s up to me to get the work/life balance right.

Me, in a 1000 words

So, that’s it, me in 1000 words! Well, not me, more like a brief history of me, but even so, if you’d like to get to know me better, subscribe to my blog posts below, or check in here regularly as I plan to post each week once I’m up and running with my business. Speaking of which, in my next blog post, I’ll share a bit about what it’s like trying to set up a business, when you know very little about “business”. Yikes!